The Best of 2016

The end of the year is one of the best times to get comprehensive lists of what’s good.

From the 47 audiobooks and audio plays I reviewed in 2016, below are my picks for the best books and narrators.

Below that, you’ll find other lists recommending the best of the best – these are links that will take you to external websites, whose content I have no control over, so if you find anything amiss (or would like to recommend other links), please contact me.

My Top 10 Audiobooks for 2016

The Best of 2016I started reviewing audiobooks and audio plays in the middle of 2016, although I’ve been reviewing arts for several decades and listening to audio plays for a long, long time. I’ve even produced a few full-cast productions myself!

All my preconceived ideas about audiobooks have been blown away this year – the modern audiobook is nothing like the ordinary readings of the past. Newer audiobooks often feature professional actors or readers who act out the parts with lots of emotion, different characterisations and a varying pace to suit the action. Some modern audiobooks even feature more than one reader, or music and sound effects.

If you’re not already listening to them, my absolute top recommendation is to forget what you think you know and give a modern audiobook a chance.

I reviewed 47 recordings over the last six months of 2016, but listened to many more on top of that. I’m setting myself a challenge to listen to at least a hundred over the course of 2017. That’s how much I’m loving them and how fortunate I’ve been with the selections I’ve heard so far. My sincere thanks to the audiobook publishers, distributors, authors and book readers who have made it possible.

And so, with great, great difficulty, I name the following audiobooks my Top 10 for 2016. My selection is based on audiobooks I’ve reviewed during the year, not their actual release dates, and it’s far too hard to put them in any order other than to say they’re in my Top 10. I loved them all.

Click each image to read my review.

Dan Dare Volume 1, by B7 and Big Finish Productions, performed by a full cast The Widow, by Fiona Barton, read by Clare Corbett Different Class, by Joanne Harris, read by Steven Pacey and Ewan Goddard

 

 

 

 

Small Great Things, by Jodi Picoult, read by Audra Ann McDonald, Ari Fliakos and Cassandra Campbell Never Never, by James Patterson and Candice Fox, read by Federay Holmes Truly, Madly, Guilty, by Liane Moriarty, read by Caroline Lee

 

 

 

 

The Woman in Cabin 10, by Ruth Ware, read by Imogen Church The Wrong Girl, by Zoe Foster, read by Aimee Horne The Girl on the Train, by Paula Hawkins, read by Clare Corbett, Louise Brealey and India Fisher

 

 

 

 

The Dressmaker, by Rosalie Ham, read by Rachel Griffiths

 

 

 

 

My Top Audiobook Narrators for 2016

Like a favourite musician or actor, there are certain narrators I trust and love, and I would be happy to give an audiobook a go simply based on their involvement. I know they are consistently excellent.

With that in mind, I nominate the following three people as my favourite audiobook narrators for 2016. I do so confidently, as I’ve heard more than one audiobook from each, although I’ve not reviewed all I’ve heard. Steven Pacey, for example, I’ve heard read at least 5 audiobooks but only reviewed one of them. If you can’t pick a title to listen to, look for a trusted narrator instead and you won’t be disappointed.

  • Steven Pacey
  • Caroline Lee
  • Clare Corbett

 

External Recommendations:

The following links will open in a new window and take you to other websites. Please let me know if you discover any broken links or would like to suggest additional links.

Other Lists of the Best Audiobooks of 2016
Other Audiobook Recommendations for 2016

 

Leave a Reply

